Coffee Culture Shock

I started drinking coffee when I was 7.IMG_5650 My best friend Claire and I would sit at the counter on sunday mornings and drink cafe au lait which were more like lait, sugar, and a splash of cafe. Since then I’ve gotten into the hard stuff. Lattes, Americanos, Capacinos. I love it. When I was studying graphic design in New York City this summer, I would have no less than three cups of starbucks coffee through out the day. In the mornings, I would seem to be a daunting line, however minutes later I would have ordered my tall cafe au lait under my Starbucks name “Sarah,” paid, and then had it in my hand ready for the 30 minute walk to school. By the time I reached my class building, I would have finished by coffee and ready for round two. This time upgrading to a grande. If I needed a pick me up throughout the day I would duck in for a grande non-fat green-tea frapp. On my way home I’d often pick up an iced coffee.

Despite the numerous coffee endeavors, I was constantly on the go. Coffee is a grab and go energy solution in America. It is not an experience to be enjoyed in and of itself.

When I came to Paris, it didn’t take long to realize that no one is walking with a cup of coffee in their hand. If they are, they’re Americans. Most likely. Parisians sit and enjoy their espresso, americanos, and cafe cremes whether by themselves or with company. It is a respected ritual.

So, out of hatred for feeling out of place, a love of coffee, and a convenient long term class project assignment has come a new mission. It is going to be the most caffeinated task I have ever taken on, besides exams.

Screen Shot 2013-10-11 at 1.15.29 PMI along with my friends Ali and Keren have charged ourselves with the task of doing how the Parisians do. researching the best places for coffee in paris and do how the Parisians do. Over the course of the next 3 weeks, we will go out and document our experiences with sound, text, video, and collage. So far we began compiling a list of all the places we plan to go to. We crafted this list through recommendations from friends, parisians, and blogs such as Ten Days In Paris, Hip Paris, Paris by Mouth, and Vingt Paris. Our findings will culminate in a large scale art piece that represents the experience.

Here is our map and list so far!

Cafe Jaja 3 Rue Sainte-Croix de la Bretonnerie, 75004 Paris
Coutume 47 rue Babylone, 75007 Paris
Ten Belles 10 rue de la Grange aux belles, Paris
La Cafeotheque 52, rue de l’Hôtel-de-Ville 75004 Paris.
Telescope 5 Rue Villedo. 75001. Paris. France.
Le Dome Du Marais 53 bis rue des Francs-Bourgeois, Paris
China Club 50 RUE DE CHARENTON • 75012 PARIS.
Rue Sedaine Rue Sedaine 75011 Paris
Black Market 27 rue Ramey 75018, Paris
le Loustic 40 rue Chapon 75003
Le Bal Cafe 6, Impasse de la Défense, 75018
Espresso and Ristretto 67, rue de Charenton 75012

Leave a Reply

